Our Leadership

About Our Rabbi

Rabbi Marc Ekstrand

Marc Ekstrand

Rabbi Marc Ekstrand joined the Temple Emanu-El community in July 2016. He is a native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and also spent many years living in the Greater Cincinnati area. Rabbi Ekstrand came to the rabbinate by way of his first career as an engineer in the steel industry. He was ordained by Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion in May of 2016. Rabbi Ekstrand served student pulpits in Parkersburg and Bluefield, West Virginia and Portsmouth, Ohio during his time at HUC-JIR. Rabbi Ekstrand enjoys studying Hebrew poetry, modern Israeli history, Jewish mysticism, and liturgy. Rabbi Marc comes to the area with his partner Polly Berg, and their twins Nava and Ilan. You will also see his boys Michael and Aaron from time to time.

See what Rabbi Marc has to say this month.

About Our Cantorial Soloist

Cantorial Soloist Sherry Barnes

Sherry Barnes
Cantorial Soloist

Sherry Barnes joined Temple Emanu-El in 1987. In May of 1989 she became an adult bat mitzvah and began teaching in the Religious School that fall. In 2001 Sherry became Temple Emanu-El’s first full-time Cantorial Soloist. She enjoys teaching adult Hebrew classes, B’nai Mitzvah students, as well as congregants interested in chanting Torah. She has the pleasure of leading the Temple Emanu-El Choir.

See what Cantorial Soloist Sherry Barnes has to say this month.

2023-2024 Executive Board


Armi Rowe
President’s Monthly message

1st Vice President

VP of Religious Practices
Claire Warren


John Murphy
Financial Secretary Bruce Goldstein
Recording Secretary Jo Michaelson
Corresponding Secretary Robbin Alpert

Past President

Andrew Parad

3 Year Trustees

Sheri Pascal Emma Zelkin
Rachel O’Brien Ian Crawford

2 Year Trustees

Marcia Reinhard Scott Zettler
Sue Fornara Jennifer Zettler

1 Year Trustees

Michael Barnett Janine Sitko
Jonathan Rowe Shoshana Weiss

Committee Chairs

Membership Emma Zelkin
Social Action

Karen Bloustine
Sybil Nassau


Sue Fornara

Religious School Committee Jennifer Zettler
Sisterhood President

Barbara Senges

Brotherhood Co-Presidents

Rich McCaffrey
Nathaniel Rowe


Erica McCaffrey

Security Committee

Rich McCaffrey

Building & Grounds

Bruce Goldstein

E-mail Us

  • MM slash DD slash YYYY
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Related Pages:
About Us
Our History
Leadership Messages