Our Leadership

About Our Rabbi

Rabbi Marc Ekstrand

Marc Ekstrand
Rabbi

Rabbi Marc Ekstrand joined the Temple Emanu-El community in July 2016. He is a native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and also spent many years living in the Greater Cincinnati area. Rabbi Ekstrand came to the rabbinate by way of his first career as an engineer in the steel industry. He was ordained by Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion in May of 2016. Rabbi Ekstrand served student pulpits in Parkersburg and Bluefield, West Virginia and Portsmouth, Ohio during his time at HUC-JIR. Rabbi Ekstrand enjoys studying Hebrew poetry, modern Israeli history, Jewish mysticism, and liturgy. Rabbi Marc comes to the area with his partner Polly Berg, and their twins Nava and Ilan. You will also see his boys Michael and Aaron from time to time.

See what Rabbi Marc has to say this month.

About Our Cantorial Soloist

Cantorial Soloist Sherry Barnes

Sherry Barnes
Cantorial Soloist

Sherry Barnes joined Temple Emanu-El in 1987. In May of 1989 she became an adult bat mitzvah and began teaching in the Religious School that fall. In 2001 Sherry became Temple Emanu-El’s first full-time Cantorial Soloist. She enjoys teaching adult Hebrew classes, B’nai Mitzvah students, as well as congregants interested in chanting Torah. She has the pleasure of leading the Temple Emanu-El Choir.

See what Cantorial Soloist Sherry Barnes has to say this month.

2021-2022 Executive Board

President


Andrew Parad
president@tewaterford.org
President’s Monthly message
1st Vice President

Armi Rowe
vicepresident@tewaterford.org
VP of Buildings
and Grounds
 
VP of Religious Practices
Claire Warren
religiouspractices@tewaterford.org
Treasurer

John Murphy
treasurer@tewaterford.org
Financial Secretary Bruce Goldstein
Recording Secretary Jo Michaelson
Corresponding Secretary Deborah Linder
Past President

Jo-el Fernandez
pastpresident@tewaterford.org

3 Year Trustees

Rebecca Haynes Marcia Reinhard
Pat Sher  

 

2 Year Trustees

Michael Barnett Michele Caton
Jonathan Rowe Janine Sitko

 

1 Year Trustees

Robbin Alpert Susan Cramer
Amy Perry Shoshana Weiss

Committee Chairs

Membership Armi Rowe
membership@tewaterford.org
Social Action

Karen Bloustine
Sybil Nassau
socialaction@tewaterford.org

Communication Susan Fornara
communications@tewaterford.org
Religious School Committee Chair Needed
Sisterhood President

Barbara Senges
sisterhood@tewaterford.org

Brotherhood Co-Presidents

Rich McCaffrey
Nathaniel Rowe
brotherhood@tewaterford.org

Kitchen

Edee Smith
kitchen@tewaterford.org

E-mail Us

  • MM slash DD slash YYYY
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Related Pages:
About Us
Our History
Leadership Messages
Directions